Return to Headlines

ACS honors Support Personnel of the Year

seven people inside city hall chambers

March 25, 2025
Jason Gaston, APR

ALABASTER - The ACS Board of Education and Superintendent Dr. Wayne Vickers honored eighteen district employees in March at the annual ACS Support Personnel of the Year Awards. Transportation, administrative assistants, counselors, and cafeteria employees were among the categories of personnel recognized. A "District Winner" was also announced from each employment category. 

Among those honored: 

Support Personnel of the Year

CVES - Melanie Penney
MVES - Beth Yarby
TIS - Antonio Kelley
TMS - Jesse Pilgreen
THS - Mattea Pavlick
CO - Renee Cofer

District Winner - Renee Cofer

Counselors of the Year:

Amy Dillard - Elementary
Heather Myles - Secondary

Bus Drivers of the Year:

CVES - Billy Lawley
MVES - Mary Scales
TIS - Reggie Atkinson
TMS - Scott Morton
THS - Larry Hemdon

CNP Personnel of the Year:

CVES - Jennifer Johnson
MVES - Janey Johnson
TIS - LaKitta Coles-Bowers
TMS - Christina Pineda
THS - Sarah Fussell

District Winner - Christina Pineda

A reception honoring these employees preceded the Board of Education recognition. See a photo gallery of the evening via Google Photos.