Return to Headlines

ACS honors Board of Education Members


January 1, 2024
Jason Gaston, APR

ALABASTER - January is School Board Recognition Month, as recognized by the Alabama Association of School Boards. Alabaster City Schools (ACS) celebrates its board members year-round, with extra focus each January, for their dedication and commitment to the school system and its students.

The theme of this year’s School Board Recognition Month is Cultivating Brilliance in Alabama Schools, which aims to highlight the role board members play in fostering excellence in education throughout the state.

ACS proudly honors and celebrates the exceptional dedication and unwavering commitment of its esteemed board members. These individuals play a vital role in shaping the future of education in our community, ensuring that every student receives the best possible opportunities for success.

The Alabaster City Board of Education comprises President Mr. Adam Moseley; Vice-President Mr. Derek Henderson; Board Member Dr. John Myrick; Board Member Mrs. Misty Johnson; and Board Member Dr. Kristalyn Lee. ACS board members were recognized at the January 8, 2024, Board of Education meeting by Superintendent Dr. Wayne Vickers and representatives from all schools in the system.

“Our school board members are true champions of education, tirelessly working behind the scenes to make critical decisions that impact the lives of students, teachers, and families,” ACS Superintendent Dr. Wayne Vickers said. “Their selfless service and unwavering commitment to the betterment of Alabaster City Schools deserve recognition and appreciation during School Board Member Recognition Month and beyond.”

A board of education is one of the most influential governing bodies in any community. The policies they approve, in many cases, affect thousands of students and employees. Their actions set the tone for all operational areas of a school system, from academics to athletics to the arts. The success of most communities rests in large part on the success of their school systems.