Return to Headlines

2023-2024 ACS Teachers of the Year

ACS - The ACS 2023-2024 Teachers of the Year were formally announced in early January during surprise visits from Superintendent Dr. Wayne Vickers. Teachers were greeted in their classrooms with a bouquet of flowers to congratulate them on their big achievement.

At the Elementary level, Bonnie Maddox, Melissa Smith, and Terri McGaughy all earned the honor of Teacher of the Year. Maddox is a 3rd grade teacher at Creek View Elementary School with 10 years of teaching experience. Smith is a Special Education teacher at Meadow View Elementary School with 22 years of experience. McGaughy is a 5th grade teacher at Thompson Intermediate School with 27 years of experience.

Lakesha Fleming and Doug Norris took home the honors at the Secondary level. Fleming is a 6th grade English Language Arts teacher at Thompson Middle School with 23 years of teaching experience. Norris, who retired in December 2023, taught Geometry/Honors Geometry at Thompson High School. Collectively, he had 37 years of education experience.

During the January 2024 ACS Board of Education meeting, Bonnie Maddox was awarded the ACS Elementary Teacher of the Year. Doug Norris received the honor for the Secondary level.

All Teachers of the Year receive $100.00 for classroom supplies. District winners receive an additional $500.00 to put toward their classrooms. 

*Not pictured: Doug Norris