Our School District

  • The Alabaster City School district is located in Alabaster, Alabama. Located just 17 miles south of Downtown Birmingham, Alabaster offers a suburban lifestyle while maintaining access to urban opportunities. Alabaster has experienced remarkable growth over the last ten years, at a rate of well over 60 percent. Those figures continue to make Alabaster one of the state’s largest and fastest-growing cities.

    Formerly a part of the Shelby County school system, the six schools in the district officially separated from the county on July 1, 2013. Alabaster City Schools currently consists of five schools. They include two elementary schools, an intermediate school, a middle school, and a high school.

    The Alabaster Board of Education currently operates with five members. Mr. Adam Moseley, Board President, Mr. Derek Henderson, Board Vice President, Mrs. Jamia James, Dr. John Myrick, and Mrs. Misty Johnson serve staggered contracts during the first years of operation. On May 1, 2013, the board approved Dr. Wayne Vickers as the system’s first Superintendent.